The Sydney area has a range of option for travelling by public tranportation. There are buses, trains, LRT and ferries. In New South Wales, public transportation is managed by Transport NSW. All information, routes and timetables of the public transportation can be accesses from the website. One of them is the Sydney Trains.


Sydney Trains is the operator of rail services across the metropolitan Sydney area, bounded by Berowra, Emu Plains, Macarthur and Waterfall. There are total 8 lines which covers over 815 km and 178 stations.

Figure 1. Sydney Trains Network

Rolling stock

Sydney Trains operates a fleet of double deck electric multiple units which running on a standard gauge (1,435mm).  The trainsets are divided into following classes: